June 11, 2021 update from Jennifer Rose (usa)

I have a lot on my plate. Like Marius, I’m also a student paralegal – recently enrolled in Blackstone Paralegal Studies Program. I’ve also applied for summer courses at Coastline College.
On top of that I’m always pursuing various writing projects, and have recently been granted a writer’s mentorship after being accepted into the Writer’s Cohort of Empowerment Avenue & Prison Renaissance Project, started by Rahsaan Thomas at San Quentin. All this, in addition to my prison job assignments on the Recycle Crew, ISUDT Intensive, and Inmate Advisory Council (I.A.C.) Transgender Rep.
I’m always busy answering a stack of mail, reading books/zines, and pursuing my legal campaign for Executive Clemency/commutation of sentence, and to challenge the unfair parole denial and housing discrimination. I recently hired the National Clemency Project to help prepare my commutation application packet. I need support letters!
My other attorney filed a new housing discrimination complaint with the Department of Fair Employment and Housing (DFEH). Additionally, I filed torture claims, in corroboration of Sean Swain’s claims, at the InterAmerican Commission on Human Rights (IACHR), and released a solidarity statement regarding Prison Lives Matter. I’ve also been collaborating with Critical Resistance in Oakland.
There are some interesting developments such as #PrisonLivesMatter and the National Freedom Movement’s #ApathwayToFreedom – One Million Families for Parole rally! Perhaps we can rebuild a Revolutionary Prisoner Movement as memorial to Kuwasi Balagoon (RIP) (A).
Another thing I’m working on is IWW/IWOC organizing/unionizing here on my yard, along with my comrade. He’s also an anarchist and we are both IWW/IWOC members, so we are planning some stuff to put into action here on the ground at Salinas Valley. We both live in the same unit; he is trying to get a theater group approved by the warden.
I think Biden and Harris neoliberal BS is a joke! They are both pigs and Amerikan imperialists who will do nothing significant to address authoritarian policing and mass incarceration. In fact, they ultimately roll over and hand power to the fascists on a silver platter. Like PLM says “We Are Our Own Liberators!”
Keep your head up! Raise your fist!
Anarchist love & solidarity,
Jennifer
——
Jennifer Rose #E23852
Salinas Valley State Prison
PO Box 1050
Soledad, CA 93960
Jennifer can also be reached at her new email address: JenniRose [[at]] conpals [[dot]] com.
More of Jennifer’s writing can be found at her blog.
june11.noblogs